1950 Memories of Suburban Adventures

Home » 9 - Unreal Reality » Don't Make Me Mad » Don’t Make Me Mad

Don’t Make Me Mad

The philosophy of ‘turn the other cheek’ is excellent, especially if I did something to you. When the misdeed was the other way around, I preferred ‘vengeance is mine’.

David made me mad.

He may have been mad too, because he stormed out of our shared bedroom. I paced up and down the aisle between our beds. What could I do to show the extent of my displeasure?

I flopped on his bed and lay spread-eagle. “I’m lying on your bed,” I called out.

No response.

“My head is on your pillow.”

Silence.

David’s voice calling out to our dog, Wolfy, floated in through our open window. Rats, he wasn’t even inside to hear my teasing. Well, this was no fun. I looked around our room.

Inspiration struck.

I pulled open his underwear and sock drawer. Matched pairs of balled-up socks lay in rows on the left side. I created new sets of similar, but not identical, colors. I chuckled, picturing my color-blind brother getting dressed for school.

I turned toward his side of our closet. What to do? I tied each shirt sleeve and pants leg into a knot.

Humming a cheerful tune (I can’t whistle) I left our room and left my anger behind. I wasn’t mad anymore.

Without knowing it, I had practiced an early form of anger management.

Lessons Learned: Idle hands aren’t always the devil’s workshop. Sometimes the devil likes busy hands. Besides, it isn’t healthy to keep negative emotions bottled up inside. I became an expert at keeping healthy.

Related Posts: Chapter Three: Body Art; Chapter Four: Special Delivery

Now it’s your turn: What method did you use for anger management?

© Mary Norton-Miller and 1950s Suburban Adventures, 2012 forward. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mary Norton-Miller and 1950s Suburban Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


15 Comments

  1. C. Suresh says:

    Hahaha! Now I would like to hear what David did to manage his anger 🙂 The socks he may not have noticed but the shirts and trousers? 🙂 That is one way of managing anger – by passing it on like a relay-race baton 🙂

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Suresh, I don’t remember what he did to trigger my wrath. But I do recall having to untie the knots. It wasn’t easy because I had pulled the knots as tight as I possibly could. Mom wasn’t happy since this was before the days of permanent press.
      Once again, David got me into trouble!

  2. Niborthefirst@gmail.com says:

    Great!!!!! Love it!!!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Glynis Jolly says:

    My brother and I had separate rooms so when I was mad at him, I’d just go to my room, shut the door, sit on the other side of the bed close to the window, and stare out into the front yard and beyond. Because we were more or less raised as ‘only’ children who just happen to live in the same house, there weren’t many times when we were mad at each other.

    I’m glad you didn’t know my cousin though. Her way of getting back at her much older brother (7 years between them) was to put crumbled up crackers in his clean underpants and socks that were in their appropriate drawers.

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Oh Glynis, crumbled crackers? So funny!
      My brother and I had separate rooms at our Dean Road house. I still managed to get into trouble – chapter 4, ‘David Laughs Last’.
      As you can see, I didn’t sit quietly on my bed, although I should have.

  4. ksbeth says:

    so funny reminds me of my childhood )

  5. Mimmy Jain says:

    I wish I’d thought of such strategies. My mantra was/is suppression, suppression, suppression and, once in a while, a blog post 🙂

  6. spunkybong says:

    What a little devil you really were, Skinny. By the way, your brother, David, finds mention in almost all your blog posts, I noticed. I like that. 🙂

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Spunky, I prefer to think I was simply creative, no devil, just a sweet little angel in disguise. A really good disguise.
      David is a year and a half younger, and was one school grade behind. He later dated a couple of girlfriends I brought home.

  7. Ralph says:

    My sister and I were the only two children in the valley. She told me in later years that she used to tell me to do things, like break a window, then run off to tell Mum who would tell Dad when he got home and I had my usual beating. I knew i was punished a lot but could never remember why until my sister told me before she died. Ralph xox 😀

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Ralph, I’m sorry you lost your sister. It certainly sounds as though you didn’t hold a grudge since you didn’t know the source of your naughtiness.
      If you’d been another brother of mine, I could have had you do all my naughty actions for me.

The Feedback Booth:

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 233 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 14,988 hits

Copyright Notice

All Rights Reserved. Please contact me for any text and/or images.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 233 other followers

