1950 Memories of Suburban Adventures

Home » 9 - Unreal Reality » Off With His Head » Off With His Head

Off With His Head

www.tvtropes.org You can use David's head!

http://www.tvtropes.org
You can use David’s head!

David and I put our heads together to have fun. Normally two heads are better than one, but he ended up losing his. Oh well, accidents happen.

We were packed into the basement of our house until the upstairs got built, creating lots of places to hide.

My cousin Barbara Kay (two months younger than me, Mary Barbara) lived a somewhat sheltered life, meaning she wasn’t allowed to act like a wild banshee like I tended to do.

David and I convinced Barbie to play hide-and-seek while she spent the night, with the lights off. Not an easy task since the dark and anything remotely scary terrified her (me too, but that doesn’t count). We compromised, agreeing to keep the hall light on and limit the hiding to our bedroom.

Barbie and I hid first. She stunk at hiding. Though in plain sight, David walked past her and searched until he found me. He made a big production of trying to find Barbie.

I didn’t need night vision to see Barbie squatting by the end of my bed nearest the hallway. I smelled a rat that smelled a lot like my game-rigging brother.

He continued searching and ignored Barbie’s muffled giggle when he stood near her.

“I give up,” he said. “Where are you?”

Barbie jumped up. “I was right here the whole time.”

No kidding.

I was it next and figured two could play at this game.

“Ready or not, here I come,” I yelled.

I entered our bedroom and spied Barbie crouching in the exact same place. I brushed lightly against her.

“What the heck?” asked Mary the over-actor. “Someone must have knocked my pillows onto the floor.”

Barbie ended my fun by laughing too loud to ignore. I told David I gave up, because I didn’t feel like looking for him.

Now Barbie was it. “I don’t want to play anymore,” she said nervously. “Let’s do something else.”

“You have to take a turn finding us,” I explained. “It’s only fair. We promise we’ll hide in easy places.”

She foolishly believed me, but wisely insisted on a flashlight.

www.fotosearch.com Hey, David, are you in there?

http://www.fotosearch.com
Hey, David, are you in there?

David crouched on top of his bureau, while I buried him in the mess of clothes he piled there. Barbie slowly came into our room. She shined the flashlight at my bed. Neither of us used her hiding place.

A brief sound of movement came from her right. Barbie spun around and cast her beam at the clump of clothes.

“Is someone on top of the bureau?” she asked.

No answer.

She moved closer, reached out, and tentatively touched the pile. David and his coat of many pieces rolled onto the floor, landing at her feet. He lay perfectly still, covered in clothing with only his head sticking out.

“I knocked David’s head off!” Barbie screamed, while running for my parents.

Mom and Dad rushed in with Barbie behind them. Instead of a headless body they found David and me limp from laughing so hard.

Barbie made us sleep with our desk light on and refused to play hide-and-seek in the dark with us again.

Lesson Learned: If you’re afraid of the dark yourself, it’s not nice to scare someone else. But it’s fun anyway.

Related Posts: Chapter Six: Creating Cleavage; Rich City Cousin Chapter Four: Night Crawler

Now it’s your turn: Did you like to play in the dark?

© Mary Norton-Miller and 1950s Suburban Adventures, 2012 forward. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mary Norton-Miller and 1950s Suburban Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


18 Comments

  1. C. Suresh says:

    Most fun things are not nice, are they, Mary 🙂 And the doctors keep pruning all that remains 🙂

  2. Mimmy Jain says:

    We used to play a game like this in boarding school. I forget the name now, but you had two groups, one hiding, the other seeking, all in the dark. But we made so much noise, the nuns banned it. I used to be petrified most of the time anyway, so maybe it wasn’t such a stupid ban!

  3. Glynis Jolly says:

    I don’t remember being afraid of the dark. I do remember being afraid to be alone in the house while growing up. I wanted my bedroom door open so that I could hear my parents and the TV as I’d fall asleep.

  4. I often scare myself when it’s dark and I’m alone. I think that’s because I know that it’s not the dark that gets you, it’s whats in it. On the other hand, I can scare myself when it’s perfectly light and sunny outside, too. Maybe I’m just waiting for the next bad thing to happen.

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Yes, Donna, a vivid imagination is not handy when you’re in the dark alone. I have a future post about my boobytraps to thwart anything sneaking into my room at night.

  5. ksbeth says:

    so funny. yes, i loved it. played w my 2 sisters and brother and loved to terrify ourselves)

  6. spunkybong says:

    You were fun kids, Skinny. I used to whistle going down the stairs in the dark. D

  7. Funny piece Skinny. The title made me want to read it 🙂

The Feedback Booth:

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 232 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 15,129 hits

Copyright Notice

All Rights Reserved. Please contact me for any text and/or images.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 232 other followers

