1950 Memories of Suburban Adventures

This experience could have been my springboard for a career as a tattoo artist, if Mrs. LaCross hadn’t squelched my initial attempt. I did, however, become an art major.

My brother and I usually were the best of pals, but I was mad at him for a crime no longer remembered. Words were exchanged and he and his friends stormed off. I was still mad and felt obligated to let him know.

I grabbed a black crayon, but had no blank paper since we’d been outside coloring in coloring books. I drew a mean face on a stone, but the bumpy lines looked like a scared lion. Hmmm, what could I draw on?

“Hey Deedee, come here,” I yelled to a younger neighbor. “Take your shirt off.”

Deedee's house in the background. Not far enough away to protect her.

Deedee’s house in the background. Not far enough away to protect her.

An hour later, Mom received another in a long line of angry calls, this time from Mrs. LaCross. Mom watched from our porch as I reluctantly walked next door to apologize. I softly knocked on the LaCross’s door, but Mrs. LaCross heard me anyway.

She called me into the kitchen where Deedee sat on the edge of their kitchen sink, wailing away while her mother scrubbed I hate you David off her back. Her chest, not yet cleaned, displayed an artistic face making creative use of nipple eyes and belly-button mouth. Deedee’s back-skin was scrubbed red and looked like it hurt. Mrs. LaCross should have let the crayon marks wear off naturally; with a shirt on, Deedee’s billboard body could have remained our little secret. And on a positive note, I gave Deedee tatoos about fifty years before they became popular for people other than sailors and carnies.

“What do you have to say for yourself?” Mrs. LaCross asked.

“I’m sorry,” I whispered.

“Do you see how much pain you’ve caused Denise while I scrub off your handiwork? Why would you do such a thing?”

The answer was self-evident. “Because I didn’t have any paper.”

Lesson learned: Creativity and resourcefulness are not always appreciated.

Related posts: Amazing Discoveries/Visiting Planet Earth; Pandemonium Trail/Turtle Thief

 

Now it’s your turn: What did you do to get a neighbor’s mom a bit upset?

 

© Mary Norton-Miller and 1950s Suburban Adventures, 2012 forward. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mary Norton-Miller and 1950s Suburban Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


3 Comments

  1. Pecora Nera says:

    Ha ha ha ha

    Brilliant, were you the blacksheep of the family?

The Feedback Booth:

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 234 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 14,897 hits

Copyright Notice

All Rights Reserved. Please contact me for any text and/or images.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 234 other followers

