1950 Memories of Suburban Adventures

Night Stalker

1967 - four years before braces

1967 – four years before braces


In the past I accidently sat at the boy’s lunch table and spilt milk on a classmate’s new shoes. Two bad lunchroom episodes weren’t enough. So a third luncheon faux pas paid me a visit.

At our small school seventh through twelfth grade ate together in two shifts, and it was common for several grades to sit together.

Judy set down her tray kitty-corner from Marcia and me. She was three grades behind us.

I noticed two dime-size bruises a half inch apart on Judy’s neck. Her injury was impossible to miss. I waited for one of her friends to comment, yet no one acted concerned. As an older student, I would show an underclassman I cared.

“Judy, what happened to your neck?” I politely asked.

Talking briefly stopped, but Judy didn’t answer. Strangely, her friends did not pursue my question. Hmmm. With the cafeteria clamor it was possible no one understood what I’d asked.

I repeated my question louder. This time Judy answered.

“What the hell does it look like happened?” she unpolitely replied. She rolled her eyes and muttered, “Jeesum.”

Judy turned toward her friends, ending our conversation and displaying a total lack of reverence for her elder.

I knew exactly what it looked like happened. Which might explain why she didn’t wish to discuss her mysterious bruise.

For many weeks I slept with the upper corners of my top sheet tied behind my neck. When a vampire struggled to expose my tender neck I’d wake up, providing time for me to yell for help. I didn’t want the same treatment Judy got.

She did seem a little on the pale side.

Lesson learned: It isn’t easy sleeping with a big knot tied behind your neck. But better safe than sorry.

Related posts: Chapter Ten: Intruder Alert

Now it’s your turn: How did you protect yourself from vampires?

© Mary Norton-Miller and 1950s Suburban Adventures, 2012 forward. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mary Norton-Miller and 1950s Suburban Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


16 Comments

  1. Ralph says:

    We eat too much garlic in everything over here in Spain. That’s why they visit your “neck” of the woods my friend 😉 ❤

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Very funny, Ralph. I’m a firm believer that no dish can ever have too much garlic or too many mushrooms. Maybe there’s some Spanish in me I don’t know about.
      Speaking of Spanish, my youngest daughter took a high school course. I looked at the book cover she made and told her she better make a new one. It said Spainish!

  2. suzjones says:

    Oh, that is just too funny.

  3. xerxeska says:

    I don’t have to. My blood type is AB-. It gives the vampires the runs.

  4. Mimmy Jain says:

    That is really funny, Mary, you were a really sweet (if naive) child!

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Thanks, Mimmy. Times were more naïve without explicit TV shows or song lyrics, but I was an ostrich with my head in the sand even then. I have no idea how this happened. I always wanted to know what was going on.

  5. It sounds like she had the illness I cal “lumpuckeroo”. Lol

  6. Too embarrassing perhaps?

  7. Choosing says:

    Vampires…. 😉 But when did the real nature of the vampires finally reveal itself to you? … Poor you that you got a fright out of it…

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Choosing, I was still a bit iffy about vampires, but the nature of Judy’s wounds was revealed by a classmate. It seems Judy was telling people that I didn’t know what a hickey was. Which was true, but embarrassing.

The Feedback Booth:

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 233 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 15,057 hits

Copyright Notice

All Rights Reserved. Please contact me for any text and/or images.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 233 other followers

