1950 Memories of Suburban Adventures

Home » 11 - Wily Adaptations » Blackmailing David » Blackmailing David

Blackmailing David

I was amazed to discover that I wasn’t the one in trouble. Miracles really do happen. I set about making the most out of my unexpected miracle.

Donna (name changed to protect the naughty), a new girl on our bus route and two grades behind me, was not a bit shy. Her outgoing personality first revealed itself on our way to school.

She leaned forward over her seat to where Eddie and my brother David sat.

“Hey guys, look at this,” she said.

They turned their heads and learned Donna was growing breasts. Her pulled down neckline was two inches from their noses. They did not look away.

The bus swerved as Mr. Carlton glanced up at the rearview mirror.

“Sit down in your seats,” he ordered.

Donna was also artistic. She drew a stick figure of a boy, folded the paper into an airplane, and sailed it over the seat onto David’s lap. He unfolded the paper and beheld an anatomically correct drawing.

David, with suggestions from Eddie, drew an equally correct stick figure of Donna. He labeled it with her name, wadded it into a ball, and tossed it back.

Donna left David’s artwork on her seat, where Mr. Carlton discovered it and sent it to the principal’s office. Mr. Snyder called Donna to his office and she named David as the artist.

David was scolded, kept after school, and told a note would be mailed home to his parents. David intercepted the mail and removed the principal’s letter.

Face of a blackmailer.

Face of a blackmailer.

I found out. I don’t remember how I found out, but the important thing is that I did.

Life was great, for me. Not so great for David.

It’s hard to believe, but power went to my head. Within one day, I got carried away with my list of demands. Rather than be subservient to a tyrant, David confessed to Mom and Dad.

Lesson learned: The cost of blackmail should never be higher than the cost of getting exposed. Much to my regret, I never got a chance to put my blackmail lesson to use.

Related post: Chapter Four: David Laughs Last

Now it’s your turn: Have you ever had an innocent blackmailing experience?

© Mary Norton-Miller and 1950s Suburban Adventures, 2012 forward. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mary Norton-Miller and 1950s Suburban Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


20 Comments

  1. mikesteeden says:

    Must have been a very strict school – I that dump I attended an award would have been given out in respect of artistic intent! Fine post.

  2. Elle Knowles says:

    LOL!! David must have been really scared of what you might do to torment him!

  3. C. Suresh says:

    Omigosh! And I thought MY sis was dangerous 🙂

  4. He he he! David must have been really scared of you… to go and confess to your parents like that…something he had never intended to do at first!

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Rajrupa, unfortunately David wasn’t scared of me, he was fed up with my polite little requests. He immediately saw what the future would be like as my slave.

  5. manty67 says:

    Your poor brother, evil sister lol

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Manty, you have it all wrong. I was just trying to make sure David learned his lesson and didn’t walk on the wild side again. I had only the purest motivation, ha ha.

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    I didn’t expect you to be the type to have an evil streak in you. It does mean, however, that you know how to have fun. 🙂

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Glynis, you are confusing ‘evil’ with ‘concern’. I was merely concerned about my younger brother’s future as a juvenile delinquent. My attempt at blackmail was just my way of saving him.

  7. suzjones says:

    Oh Skinny. That was just too funny. You outsmarted yourself on that one.

  8. spunkybong says:

    Skinny, Skinny, Skinny, what would I do without you? Did Donna grow up to be Jackie Collins? 😀 (honestly, I don’t understand David’s put-off attitude. I would have been thrilled even if what Donna had were just olives) 😀

The Feedback Booth:

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 233 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 14,782 hits

Copyright Notice

All Rights Reserved. Please contact me for any text and/or images.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 233 other followers

