1950 Memories of Suburban Adventures

Anger Management

Susan definitely had a temper problem that seemed to manifest itself whenever David and I were home alone with her. There may be a correlation here, but it’s purely circumstantial evidence.

After getting home from school and dishing out ice cream, we watched television. I liked The Mickey Mouse Club because I followed the serial adventures of Annette. David and I each became hooked on Dark Shadows, a soap opera with what might have been the first television vampire.

Susan, nine years younger, liked cartoons.

Too bad for her, majority ruled. David and I were the majority … every single day.

“I should get a turn once in a while,” she complained.

“Let’s take a vote,” I said. “Who wants Dark Shadows?”

David and I raised our hands. Two against one. We won again!

Susan - our channel changing little sister.

Susan – our channel changing little sister.

Susan got testy, walked to the television, and switched to cartoons on our only other clear channel. I got up and turned the channel back.

After repeating this a few times, she gave us no choice (so the following actions were all her fault). Time for anger management.

A deep sump hole sat to the left of our television console. David grabbed one of Sue’s feet and I grabbed the other. We dangled her over the sump hole, laughing so hard we almost lost our grip. Her long hair fell down, brushing the top layer of cobwebs.

Susan screamed a bit, but always ended up agreeing to leave the television alone.

Our little sister did not appear to like living in a democracy.

Lesson learned: An old saying is, ‘Courage, not compromise, brings God’s approval’. Susan displayed courage until the spiders got too close to her hair, but then she compromised. David and I didn’t compromise, but I don’t think we brought any of God’s approval.

Related posts: Chapter Twelve: Wicked Cinderella; Scary Temper Problem

Now it’s your turn: How did you manage anger problems?

© Mary Norton-Miller and 1950s Suburban Adventures, 2012 forward. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mary Norton-Miller and 1950s Suburban Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


22 Comments

  1. Elle Knowles says:

    I remember those days of not too many clear channels. And the majority always rules! LOL!

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Elle, we had two clear channels and one fuzzy one. Of course, the ones we considered clear would be called fuzzy nowadays.
      And majority rules is always fun when you’re in the majority!

  2. Choosing says:

    When I got angry as a child, I screamed and cried a lot, I think. 😉 Growing up, I gradually learned to control my temper… until I had kids… 😉 They manage let me forget anger management. 😉

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Choosing, I can’t blame Susan. David and I were the cause of her screaming and crying. Tweens and teenagers are one of the main causes for the need of anger management.

  3. Glynis Jolly says:

    How did I manage anger problems with my little brother? I can’t remember a time when what we were arguing about was all that important to me, to tell you the truth. I’d argue for a while but would get bored with the whole thing. I’d walk away from it and find something else to do.

  4. Anonymous says:

    I think it was a different show that you wanted to watch. I lovvved “Dark Shadows”!!! You should remember I love scary movies and still do! ….BUT, I definitely remember you not wanting me to watch a “program” and doing that MEAN act to your sweet, angelic, little sister, who only wanted to watch an educational TV show. =( It’s okay though, I never told you that I squished a little spider and wiped it on your two pillows! =)

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      This sounds like my little sister, Susan. As for the spider pillows, my big question would have to be ‘What did you put on David’s pillow?” After all, I couldn’t have held you up alone! Ha ha!

  5. Susan Brown says:

    Hehehe

  6. Something about ‘the will of the majority while having regard for the needs of minorities’? I like the photo – there’s a certain steely determination in those eyes.

  7. spunkybong says:

    Oh my God, you and David were terrors. Poor Susan!

  8. chsuresh63 says:

    Anger Management? Who was managing whose anger? 🙂

    Those were hard-won democracy lessons. Was George Bush Jr. also a student? 😛

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Suresh, this is why David and I didn’t go into politics. We knew we’d end up getting impeached! Of course, I think I would have made a great monarch.

  9. Mimmy Jain says:

    My toddler son amazed (and frightened) me, for, when he got angry (what could make a baby so angry?!), he would go and bang his head against the nearest wall. Luckily, he’s learnt better anger management skills since then.

  10. suzjones says:

    So tell me, does she speak to you these days? 😉

The Feedback Booth:

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 233 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 15,057 hits

Copyright Notice

All Rights Reserved. Please contact me for any text and/or images.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 233 other followers

