1950 Memories of Suburban Adventures

Scary Temper Problem

My little sister, Susan, had a bad temper that escalated to dangerous proportions one day. This statement alone will get Susan’s blood boiling, which makes me chuckle while composing it.

It’s possible a few mitigating circumstances were instigated by David and me, but Susan was the one who got extremely mad, not us.

Daddy-O loves ice cream and eats it in a large mixing bowl. Susan inherited Dad’s ice cream gene.

Our refrigerator freezer was a shrinking igloo inside an ever thickening wall of frost. Unlike today’s separate freezer compartments, you had to open the rounded refrigerator door to access the freezer’s metal door.

Susan wanted ice cream the minute she got home from school. David and I grabbed the bucket of ice cream first. We heaped our bowls full, stuck the bucket back in the freezer, and informed Sue about its creamy mouth-watering deliciousness.

“I want some,” said Susan.

We pretended we couldn’t hear her and continued raving over how wonderful our ice cream tasted. I suppose I should mention that Susan is nine years younger than me and seven and half years younger than David.

1966: Me, Dad, Mom, Paula, Susan, David

1966: Me, Dad, Mom, Paula, Susan, David

“Fine, I’ll just get my own,” said Susan. She marched toward the fridge.

David reached over Sue’s head and braced his arm against the refrigerator door. She waited patiently for him to get tired of the game.

After a few minutes her patience was gone, replaced by a growing frustration. See? Susan really did have a temper problem!

I finished my bowl and took over guard duty, so David could continue eating.

Our sweet little sister stopped whining, quietly walked to the silverware drawer, and removed the biggest kitchen knife from inside. We watched in disbelief as she raised it over her head, emitted a piercing scream, and ran toward us.

We raced around the kitchen table with Sue in hot pursuit. We couldn’t get too far ahead or we’d be right behind her.

www.examiner.com This is the look that was on Susan's face.

http://www.examiner.com
This is the look that was on Susan’s face.

“Put that knife back this minute or you’ll be in big trouble,” I yelled.

“Aughhhh! You’re both meaniacs,” she yelled.

“Stop running with a knife or you’ll get hurt,” warned David. “You can have your ice cream. We’ll stop holding the door shut.”

“Put the knife down now and we won’t tell on you,” I added.

“Do you both promise?”

We did. Susan replaced her knife with a satisfied smile and got her ice cream.

David and I collapsed on the couch and laughed nervously. We kept an eye on Susan when she came into the living room. No knife.

Years later, Sue said, “I just wanted to scare you. I wasn’t really trying to catch you.”

Hmmm, I wonder.

Lesson learned: Don’t become a meaniac who makes the mistake of coming between a girl and her ice cream.

Related posts: Chapter Twelve: Wicked Cinderella

Now it’s your turn: Did your younger sibling ever scare the ice cream out of you?

© Mary Norton-Miller and 1950s Suburban Adventures, 2012 forward. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mary Norton-Miller and 1950s Suburban Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


23 Comments

  1. Lol Susan sounds like my little brother, he would chase us with the axe when we were little, now he is the loveliest person ever, hardly ever gets mad, and wouldn’t even hurt a fly. Funny how things change. I guess siblings bring out the worst and the best in us.

  2. xerxeska says:

    My brother was 4 years older than me. And no, he never scared the ice cream out of me. He once scared the pants off me. He was always spying on me. Whenever he thought that I had done something that I shouldn’t have and he was the sole decision maker, he would threaten to tell on me to my parents. He would often exaggerate my so called crime tremendously. With the result that I got a scolding from my parents and, as a punishment, deprived from doing things that I loved to do. Eating ice cream, for example. things got unbearable for me. One day, I had had enough. When he threatened to tell my parents the next time I yelled at him “Tell them what you want, you bastard.” That was it. His face flushed with fury, he ran to the kitchen and came back with a knife.He knocked me down (he could easily do that. he was four years older) sat on my chest and held the knife against my throat. “I’m going to kill you. I’m going to kill you.” he screamed. My mouth went dry, I closed my eyes and prepared for the worst. At six, I was probably too young to die because just then Mom walked in. One look and she screamed at my brother to get off me.
    When the whole story came out, I proved to be a very good advocate for myself, it was he and not I who got the worst of it. Even more when my father came home a little later. He did not speak to me for months later. As we grew older and, presumably, wiser, we became the best of friends and remained so till he died a very premature death. .
    Knife or not, I miss him dearly.

  3. Haha. Another enjoyable read.
    My younger brother, who is four years younger than me, also had a habit of brandishing around knives when he was angry. Now that he’s 18 and almost a head taller than me, he claims that looking down at me is all he needs to intimidate me. Sigh.

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      DW, thanks. I’m glad it gave you a chuckle.
      A head taller and four years older certainly doesn’t need a knife to intimidate. Just remind him that you’re the cuter one.

  4. themoonstone says:

    Good read. Your sister sounds like somebody to reckon with 🙂

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Thanks, Moonstone. Susan responded on Facebook and agreed that her face probably did look like the picture in my post. She still claims she wasn’t really trying to catch us. Just scare us.

  5. Great tale of sweets and survival.

  6. Rajlakshmi says:

    hahaha you brothers were so mean 😛 I remember my sister used to throw tantrums by packing all her things in a little bag and walking out of the house, saying she’s leaving 😛 never made it to the gate 🙂
    That’s a lovely tale you shared 🙂

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Thanks, Rajlakshmi. My brother and I didn’t think we were being mean, we were just teaching her patience and how to respect her elders (meaning us). Ha ha.

  7. spunkybong says:

    Ha Ha! What is Susan in now? The Special Forces? 😀

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Spunky, she lives nearby and I see her often. She is one of those special people that was meant to be a mother. All her children’s friends love her. Now she works at a pre-school, much to the delight of the children.

  8. Glynis Jolly says:

    Mary, sorry but I’m on Susan’s side. The joke would have been carried beyond being funny for me too. Yes, I love ice cream. 😛

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Glynis, I’ve got to admit I’m on Susan’s side, too! I’m just glad she didn’t trip and hurt herself while chasing us. She remembers having such a sense of power while finally eating her ice cream.

  9. Choosing says:

    In our house it is mostly holding doors shut so that younger brother cannot enter big brother’s room. … So far it only ended with tears and complaints, not with weapons being handled.
    P.S. Little one is always faster at the ice cream shelf!

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Choosing, this is the only time I can recall a weapon getting used at our house. I don’t blame Sue for her actions, it was all my brother’s and my fault.

  10. Pat Amsden says:

    Alls well that ends well!

The Feedback Booth:

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 233 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 15,057 hits

Copyright Notice

All Rights Reserved. Please contact me for any text and/or images.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 233 other followers

