1950 Memories of Suburban Adventures

Temptation

Temptation comes in many forms. For the second time in my life, it approached me in the guise of a turtle. And for the second time, I succumbed.

David disappeared after we got home from school.

“Hey David, where are you?”

“I’m in here.”

His voice came from Mom and Dad’s bedroom. I stopped at their doorway and discovered David lying across their bed. Not usually much of a reader, he seemed deeply engrossed in a stack of Playboy magazines.

Dad thought hiding his stash on top of a wide beam in the ceiling would be safe. Dad didn’t know how thorough we were. I flipped through a couple of issues and quickly realized why they’d been hidden.

I left David to his reading. My detective skills had unearthed a much better hidden treasure.

In the bottom of Dad’s sock drawer was a box of Turtles; gooey yummy chocolate-covered caramel and pecan candies. I preferred soft jelly candies, but seldom had any. Mom and Dad’s secret turtles made a great substitute.

www.lovemarks.com Impossible to resist!

http://www.lovemarks.com
Impossible to resist!

Each day, I unearthed the box and nibbled a leg off each piece. It drove me crazy that my parents, knowing their candy was within reach each night, never ate it.

The Turtles soon lost a second appendage, and before long resembled flat chocolate lumps incapable of movement.

With all their legs removed, I was forced to savor an immobile body. Of course, Mom and Dad’s sweet tooth reactivated that night and they discovered the Turtle carnage. It wasn’t my fault some people take too long to eat their candy.

There were three possible culprits residing in the house, but only one likely suspect. Mom and Dad immediately zeroed in on me without stopping to ask who ate their candy.

What happened to innocent until proven guilty? Not that I was all that innocent.

“What were you doing in my sock drawer in the first place?” asked Dad.

There was no winning answer to such an incriminating question, so I side-stepped it.

“There’s still a few left,” I said.

Dad waved a Turtle piece in front of Mom. “Look at this. She ate all around the edges.”

They didn’t offer to share their remaining Turtle lumps and I didn’t ask for any. If they bought a replacement box, then they found a lot better hiding place.

I later hid candy from my own children, but not in my sock drawer.

Lesson learned: I should have taken the entire box. They might have thought they’d eaten it themselves and just forgot.

Related Story: Chapter Three: Turtle Thief

Now it’s your turn: Did a turtle ever tempt you?

© Mary Norton-Miller and 1950s Suburban Adventures, 2012 forward. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mary Norton-Miller and 1950s Suburban Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


23 Comments

  1. Sunni Morris says:

    My grandmother loved turtles and we got her a box every Christmas.

  2. Guilty! We’ve nibbled on a few hidden treasures in our day. Most recently, the quick spoon in the hidden Graeter’s Ice Cream container.

  3. Ralph says:

    I used to take the odd cigarette from my uncle’s packet. He never missed them or noticed how green I looked after smoking one 😆 xox

  4. mikesteeden says:

    As ever – musings that trigger memories. Wonderful stuff.

  5. Choosing says:

    I did not know turtles made of chocolate existed… they look yummy though. – I am facing the challenge in a reversed way nowadays: when my boys bring home candy from birthday parties 😉 I do ask before I take one though… well, most of the time anyway….. sometimes they just forget the lot… 😉

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    Believe it or not, sugary goodies were never hid at my house. They were way out in the open in clear candy dishes with lids laying on the coffee table or an in-table in the living room. My mom could hear the clank of the lid being taken off. The only time my brother or I could sneak candy was when my mom wasn’t home. Rarely did she go any place without taking us along with her.

    • Sunni Morris says:

      We rarely had candy around our house at all. All I can remember really is the candy Easter eggs and when our grandfather would bring a box of Witman’s chocolates once in a while when he came to visit.

      We lived on a farm close to the other set of grandparents and she was always baking something or making donuts, etc. But she always kept stuff in a container on top of the fridge, so she had to give it to us. We were never in the kitchen if she wasn’t there, or I imagine we may have pulled up a chair to reach up there.

      • skinnyuz2b says:

        Sunni, boxed chocolates are great as long as they have one of those maps that show you what’s inside. Otherwise, our chocolates had tiny test holes poked in the bottom.
        Homemade cookies and donuts are the best!

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Glynis, I can assure you I would have perfected the soundless lift of the lid. It would have been pure torture for me to see candy just out of my reach.

  7. Morguie says:

    You could have blamed the mouse. I never did that stuff. My sister was the little rat who did stuff like nibble candy around the edges, like you. LOL!

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      CJ, if I thought for one minute I could get away with blaming a mouse, I would have done so. Boxed candy without one of those handy maps designating what flavor each piece is, always had a little hole poked in the bottom or a nibble off an edge. But I’m not admitting to anything.

  8. It was really funny how you nibbled off the appendages first! I used to eat fruit roll-ups that way, nibbling at the edges and then eating the residual amoeboid strip later… LOL…

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      DW, my reason for edge-eating was because I thought my parents wouldn’t notice. Unfortunately, parents are never as dumb as kids hope they are.
      Fruit roll-ups, hmmm. I was an adult when they first came out, but my method of eating was to fold them in half several times and then enjoy the feeling of biting through all those squishy layers. Gee, now I’m hungry for some.

  9. Mimmy Jain says:

    It seems funny, looking back now, but I had to ask my mum every time I took something unorthodox to eat, apart from regular meals, which I never wanted to eat anyway. I thought this was normal till I tried to institute the same rule with my son and my husband glared at me and said, “It’s his house too. Why can’t he eat what he wants?” Wonder why I never thought of that logic with my mum.

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Mimmy, our snacks were kept out of reach when I was younger. We had to ask if we could have a scooter-pie or cookie, and then if the answer was ‘Yes’, the goodie got doled out. I’m sure this was necessary because I would have eaten the scooter-pies until they were gone and I was sick.

  10. “Temptation comes in many forms. For the second time in my life, it approached me in the guise of a turtle. And for the second time, I succumbed.”
    One of the greatest phrases and opening to any story, ever.

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Thanks, MLBF. No ordinary tempting serpent for me. If you check out my photo in ‘Turtle Thief’ you’ll see that those turtles continued into middle age.
      Again, thanks for such a wonderful comment.

The Feedback Booth:

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 233 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 14,782 hits

Copyright Notice

All Rights Reserved. Please contact me for any text and/or images.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 233 other followers

