1950 Memories of Suburban Adventures

Home » 9 - Unreal Reality » Runaway Apple » Runaway Apple

Runaway Apple

My life would have been smooth sailing if just one of my good deeds managed to go unpunished. Those in my immediate vicinity would have appreciated it too.

www.quickanded.com So innocent looking.

http://www.quickanded.com
So innocent looking.

I sat in the front seat of our school bus, behind Mr. Carlton, polishing an apple I planned to give Mrs. Bennett. And yes, even in 1961 this action was lame for an eleven year old.

I huffed on my apple and rubbed it against my sweater until it shined.

Liz and Caroline, two high school girls, squeezed onto my seat.

Mr. Carlton almost drove past one of his stops. He slammed on the brakes, making me lurch forward. The apple rolled off my lap, onto the floor, and to the left of Mr. Carlton’s feet. I bent under the railing behind his seat to retrieve my apple, at the exact same moment he leaned down to pick it up.

Mr. Carlton bumped me into the fire extinguisher.

I don’t know how the extinguisher went off, but I’m sure it wasn’t my fault. A white cloud immediately consumed the front half of our bus. We turned into white albinos.

Girls whined, boys cussed, gagging and coughing filled the air, and everyone blamed me for Mr. Carlton’s bad driving.

Mr. Carlton stopped the bus, grabbed my apple, and opened the bus door. He threw Mrs. Bennett’s apple so hard that he almost dislocated his shoulder. I opened my mouth to complain, but had second thoughts.

The bus windows were opened with minimal effect.

www.hollywoodjesus.com Tainted apple from white extinguisher dust.

http://www.hollywoodjesus.com
Tainted apple from white extinguisher dust.

My tossed-out fruit truly was Snow White’s poison apple. I never sat in the front seat again, and tucked Mrs. Bennett’s next apple out of sight in my coat pocket.

Lessons learned: Don’t blame others for your mistakes. A lesson I hoped Mr. Carlton would learn in the future.

And once again, my good deed did not go unpunished.

Related Posts: Amazing Discoveries/Snow Shoveling Showdown

Now it’s your turn: Did you ever have a run-in with a fire extinguisher?

© Mary Norton-Miller and 1950s Suburban Adventures, 2012 forward. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mary Norton-Miller and 1950s Suburban Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


23 Comments

  1. Pecora Nera says:

    Hilarious…. I loved this one

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Thanks, Pecora. Liz became a teacher at the same school and taught my four children. Luckily, she did not hold a grudge about the white-out.

      • Pecora Nera says:

        In the last week before I left school, I was sitting in the 6th form common room and discussing the fun and antics we had got away with; Mark told the story of when he had nearly been expelled the previous year for setting off one of the 6th form common room fire extinguishers, The red fire extinguisher was still hung from the wall, although it was empty.

        We prompted him to re-enact the fun and he promptly grabbed the extinguisher told the story and hit the red button. What he didn’t know is we had earlier swapped them around his face was amazing as white powder filled the room:)

        10 mins later the seven of us stood in front of the headmaster with a threat of being expelled two days before school left 🙂

      • skinnyuz2b says:

        PN, you and your friends should have blamed the white cloud on the bus driver, like I did, ha ha.

  2. Mimmy Jain says:

    However did you manage to get into such scrapes? You are so funny!

  3. C. Suresh says:

    Hahaha! Mary! Wrong time to be reading this – laughing so hard after a full meal is really hazardous 🙂

    P.S : Sure hope Mr.Carlton learnt his lesson – not to blame others for his mistakes 🙂

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Thanks, Suresh. I don’t know about Mr. Carlton, but it was my bad luck that it seemed like everyone around me needed to learn that lesson.
      Hopefully you weren’t eating an apple for dessert while laughing!

  4. Ritu Lalit says:

    ROFL I hope the next apple reached Mrs. Bennet without any adventure

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Yes, Ritu, I brought her several during the year. She was very old and very strict and I hoped my offerings would soften her up.
      I probably should have brought one for Mr. Carlton.

  5. Glynis Jolly says:

    The gesture of giving something to a teacher in itself makes you much better than me. I never even thought to give any of my teachers anything at all. There were a number of them that I admired, but it just didn’t dawn on me to give them anything except my good behavior in their classes. Sorry but I feel sad for Mr. Carlton. His day was a total disaster.

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Yes, Glynis, Mr. Carlton was the whitest of us all. And I’m sure he’s the one who got stuck dusting off the bus. I’m also sure he didn’t mind that I never sat in the front seat behind him again.
      As for my generous gift, I was just sucking up to a very strict teacher. I had no shame.

  6. parrillaturi says:

    One bad apple! I’m talking about Mr Carlton. What a mean way to vent his frustration. Hope you had other apples. Your adventures leave one gasping for air. How in the world did you survive all these mishaps? I’m still scratching my head. You remind me so much of my younger brother,(I still love him) whom I felt like choking, because of all the trouble he would get into. At times, I would be blamed. You are so funny. Blessings.

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      Parrillaturi, don’t blame Mr. Carlton. I have to say, he never yelled at me. But he wasn’t happy with the tainted apple.
      Yes, your brother does sound a bit like me.

  7. e m bahnsen says:

    At least you got to ride the bus! I had to walk a mile each way to and from school. Carrying an apple along with my books would have been difficult. As always, Mary, you entertain us! Thank you.

  8. spunkybong says:

    Lovely, Skinny. You could expand on it. I meant from the point of view of the apple. It flies out the window, is befriended by a squirrel, albeit for a short while. The squirrel takes him back for dinner with its famalee. 😀

    • skinnyuz2b says:

      That would be a tragedy, not a comedy, Spunky. The apple was coated with white poisonous dust. And worse, it rolled around on the floor of the bus, gathering up tons of childhood germs.

  9. Hilarious Mary. You really have had a very interesting life 🙂

The Feedback Booth:

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 233 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 15,057 hits

Copyright Notice

All Rights Reserved. Please contact me for any text and/or images.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 233 other followers

